Daytona 500 Preview History

Daytona 500 Preview History

NASCAR opens the year every year with its most important race, the Daytona 500. There are nine days of pre-race activities at the Daytona 500, beginning with Budweiser Speedweek, which includes driver’s battling it out for the coveted pole position in the qualifying rounds. At the 2015 Daytona 500, Joey Logano stole the show, coming from 21st position to win his first Daytona 500. Jeff Gordon made his last appearance at the Great American Race and started form pole. Gordon led the 2015 Daytona 500 for an unbelievable 87 laps, but it was Logano who pulled out the win. Logano’s average speed at the 2015 Daytona 500 was over 160 miles per hour, making it one of the fastest races on record. Check back for a preview of the 2016 Dayton 500 as we near the race.

Most sporting events hold their major event at the end of a series; Daytona 500 sets the pace for the entire racing season, as not only the race to win, but as the first race of the season. There are nine days of pre-race activities you can attend, beginning with Budweiser Speedweek, which includes driver’s battling it out for the coveted pole position in the qualifying rounds. Jeff Gordon will start the 2015 Daytona 500 from pole and look to win the iconic race in his last season of racing in NASCAR.

In 2014, Dale Earnhardt Jr. snapped what would have otherwise been a ten year drought at the Daytona 500 with his second win in February. It was the second straight year that the 9th grid position has taken the checkered flag as Jimmie Johnson did the same in the previous year. Dale Earnhardt Jr. finished the 500 mile race in 3 hours and 26 minutes at an average speed of 145mph to bring home the $1,506,363 prize and his second Daytona 500 victory.

The Super Bowl of Racing is less than a week away and if the two practice rounds are any indication of how the race will proceed, Danica Patrick is sitting pretty. Patrick's latest mark on the NASCAR history books came in the Daytona's pole where she posted a 196.434 mph lap to become the first Woman ever to take home the top spot of a premier race on the NASCAR circuit. After posting her lap as the eighth qualifying position Mrs. Patrick had to wait as the remaining 37 drivers tried to take her spot.

Posting the only other 196 mph lap, Jeff Gordon was the only driver to get close to Danica Patrick as he fills in the #2 position for the race. Behind Patrick and Gordon sits Kevin Harvick, Kyle Busch and Greg Biffle as the top starting positions for the 2013 Daytona 500.

All eyes are on pole-sitter Danica Patrick as the 55th running of the Daytona 500 approaches. Having become the first woman in the NASCAR's history to take the pole position, expectations will be high for her to do well come race time. With the addition of NASCAR's new Gen 6 cars drivers continue to struggle as mishaps keep occurring in practice sessions just days before the Daytona 500. With some of the best drivers in NASCAR getting ready to square off at Daytona International Speedway, this year’s race is shaping up to be one of the best thus far.

The Daytona 500 is the one in NASCAR-the race that begins it and makes the winner a household name with Letterman appearances and Gatorade endorsement deals. It also makes the winner very rich, with the last five winners clearing a $1.5 million payday. There's a reason why they call it “The Great American Race.”

The 2011 edition, the 53rd, has a couple of subplots going in to the race. For the first time since 1978, the track has been paved over thanks to last year's pothole incident where one opened up next to the second turn, causing two red flags to be issued and delays of about two-and-a-half hours. How will the drivers react to such a smooth surface? Also, for the first time since 2007, the cars will be using rear spoilers instead of rear wings. NASCAR's official reasoning “is to adjust the downforce and balance that is being produced on the current car.” Fans said the rear wings made the races boring because of the drivers' caution due to the limited vision (and thus passing ability) the wing caused. Will the race now be faster and more exciting thanks to these two changes? Considering Daytona track President Joie Chitwood announced ticket sales are up over 30% in 2011, our bet is that the fans think it will.

As for the racers, the usual teams are looking to capitalize on the faster track: Joe Gibbs Racing, Richard Childress Racing, Hendrick Motorsports, Earnhardt-Ganassi Racing and Earnhardt-Ganassi Racing. Earnhardt-Ganassi is the current champ with last year's Daytona 500 winner Jamie McMurray and his 1 car in the stable, but even though Gibbs hasn't won Daytona since 1993, their stable of Kyle Busch, Denny Hamilin and Joey Logano look to be a solid bet. Childress' crew— Kevin Harvick, Jeff Burton, Clint Bowyer and probable Paul Menard—also look great, especially considering Harvick's near-win last year if it hadn't been for yellow flags late in the race. Hendrick, with Dale Jr., Jeff Gordon, Jimmie Johnson and Mark Martin, also can't be counted out. However, with this being a restrictor-plate track, look for Earnhardt-Ganassi's McMurray and Juan Pablo Montoya to have a great showing thanks to their dominance on plate tracks.

Being so close to the ocean, going to the “Super Bowl of Stock Car Racing” is one of the great treats in life. To watch a winner hoist the Harley J. Earl Trophy is a magnificent experience, and one you don't want to miss. TicketCity has some of the best seats around, so why don't you get yours today!

Earnhardt Ganassi Racing's Jamie McMurray captures the $1.5 million first prize pot. He was follwed by Hendrick Motorsports' Dale Earnhardt, Jr. and Roush Fenway Racing's Greg Biffle in third.

The 2010 Daytona 500 is being raced on Sunday, February 14th at Daytona International Speedway in Daytona Beach, Florida. The 2010 Daytona 500 is the 52nd running of the famous Nascar race, known as the "Super Bowl of Nascar". The Daytona 500 is the kickoff to the 2010 Nascar season and one of the most prestigious races on the Sprint Cup Series. It is also one of the only restrictor plate races on the 2010 Nascar schedule. The recent winners of the Daytona 500 read like a "who's who" list of big-time drivers and include: Matt Kenseth (2009 Daytona 500 Champion), Ryan Newman, Kevin Harvick and 4-time Nascar Sprint Cup Series Champion, Jimmie Johnson. The winner driver at the 2010 Daytona 500 will get to etch their name in history... and also get a nice winner's check for over $1.5 million dollars. The 2010 Daytona 500 occurs on the same day as the 2010 NBA All-Star Game in Texas.

The 2009 Daytona 500 will live up to its famous moniker - "The Great American Race." This race always draws one of the largest crowds in stock car racing, and is one of the wildest events of the year. Fans arrive early at the track to tailgate and sample foods and souvenirs. The 51st annual Daytona 500 will feature NASCARS greatest comptetitors, and there are sure to be a few veterans hanging out in the stands. Former Daytona 500 champions Kevin Harvick, Buddy Baker, Junior Johnson, Derrike Cope and Pete Hamilton will participate in a special ceremony on July 6 prior to the race. Make sure to get your Daytona 500 tickets as ticket sales for this American race head into the last lap!

Sell Us Your Tickets*