Trusted ticket reseller since 1990. Ticket prices may be above or below face value.
TicketCity > College Hockey Tickets > NCAA Frozen Four Tickets > Frozen Four Preview History
Frozen Four Preview History

Frozen Four Preview History

2013 NCAA Frozen Four Preview
It's four schools you usually don't think of when you think about the Frozen Four, and that's for good reason -- three of the four have never made it to the last four and that last one hasn't done it since 1953. The latter school, Yale, was a long shot to get out of it's regional after being put in with college hockey powerhouses like Minnesota and North Dakota. Yale pulled the 3-2 upset over Minnesota in overtime of the regional semifinals then bullied North Dakota 4-1 to punch it's ticket to the Frozen Four. Quinnipiac had a spectacular year and was the #1 overall seed going into the tournament after a 27-7-5 record this season. The Bobcats drew a first-round match up against Canisius, dropping the upstate New Yorkers 4-3. Union upset BC's shot at a repeat title, but were stopped cold by Quinnipiac 5-1 in the regional final.

St. Cloud State may have been the final at-large bid allowed in by the committee, and the Huskies have proven they were worth the inclusion. St. Could State destroyed both Notre Dame and Miami (OH) by a combined 9-1 to stake its spot in the Frozen Four and a national championship would be a momentus victory for the school surrounded by other hockey powerhouse universities. UMass Lowell romped Wisconsin 6-1 in the first round setting up a match with New Hampshire in the regional final, and were able to hold the Wildcats scoreless in a 2-0 win that propelled them into the last four teams remaining. All four teams are looking for unprecedented success but only one can walk away with the national title. Get you tickets for the Frozen Four and witness history in the making and dreams becoming reality at the Consol Energy Center this April!

It’s down to four teams in college hockey and the puck is set to drop on April 5 in Tampa to determine who is moving on to the national championship game. With the No. 1 overall seed in the mix along with a team making its first appearance in the Frozen Four, the action will keep the Tampa Bay Times Forum buzzing in Florida’s first time hosting the tournament’s finals.

#1 Boston College vs. Minnesota
Bulldozing its way through the regional, No. 1 overall seed Boston College is ready for its chance to reclaim the national championship it won in 2008 and 2010. The Eagles beat Air Force 2-0 in the first round before dismantling defending champion Minnesota-Duluth to reach the Frozen Four. Minnesota also made quick work of it opponents in the regional, scoring a tournament-high seven goals in a win over Boston University before dispensing North Dakota with a 5-2 in Saint Paul. The Eagles went 8-1 at neutral sites this season and are the favorite to win the tournament.

#4 Union College vs. Ferris State
With two-goal wins over Michigan State and UMass-Lowell, liberal arts school Union College proved it deserved the No. 3 overall seed. The Dutchmen, led by first-year head coach Rick Bennett play their home games in the Achilles Center, capacity 2,225; the Tampa Bay Times forum holds almost 10 times that amount and that’s where they’ll face off against the Ferris State Bulldogs. Ferris State reaches the Frozen Four for the first time in school history after beating hockey powerhouses Denver and Michigan by 2-1 margins. Led by Bob Daniels in his 19th year at Ferris State, the Bulldogs hail from Big Rapids, MI., and are looking to shock the hockey world with a national championship win on April 7.

After a grueling regular season and pressure-packed playoffs, the Frozen Four has been set. The semi-finals are slated for April 7, with the championship game taking place on April 9 in St. Paul, Minnesota. It features three teams who are no stranger to being this deep in the postseason, but also includes a newcomer who has had to overcome considerable adversity to get there.

Notre Dame vs. Minnesota-Duluth
With such a storied history, it is somewhat of a surprise that this is Notre Dame's first Frozen Four. The Fighting Irish faced an uphill battle to get here, having to go to overtime to defeat a tough Merrimack team 4-3 in the opening round, only to travel to Manchester, New Hampshire, to beat UNH 2-1 in front of a largely partisan crowd. The regular season was no picnic either, as they entered the tournament on a two game losing streak and many had already written them off. While this is new territory for the Fighting Irish, such is not the case for Minnesota-Duluth. The Bulldogs have thrice been to the Frozen Four before - most recently in 2004. Still, they also had to pull some upsets to get to where they are. After inching past Union 2-0 in the first round, Minnesota-Duluth met up with top-ranked Yale and managed to advance with a 5-3 victory.

Michigan vs. North Dakota
The second semi-final features two of the most decorated programs in NCAA history. Michigan has won nine national championships and is returning to the Frozen Four for first time since 2008. The second-seeded Wolverines earned an at-large bid after finishing the regular season 26-10-4 in the super-competitive Central Collegiate Hockey Association. Michigan survived a scare from Nebraska-Omaha in the first round by winning 3-2 in overtime, before edging past Colorado College 2-1 in the second round.

If there's a team that's nearly as successful as Michigan, its North Dakota. The Fighting Sioux have seven national titles to their name (most recently in 2000) and are in the Frozen Four for the third time in the last five years. They entered the post season as the tournament champions of the WHCA, and have had perhaps the easiest path to get where they are. After dispatching of RPI 6-0 in the first round, North Dakota met second-seeded Denver and cruised to a 6-1 victory.

The 2010 Frozen Four will be played at Ford Field in Detroit, Michigan on April 8th & 10th. The venue for the 2010 Frozen Four makes it a special event because this will be the first time Detroit has hosted this NCAA hockey championship in their large stadium. Previous Frozen Fours in Detriot were played at Joe Louis Arena or Olympia Stadium. So expect the atmosphere at the 2010 Frozen Four to be second to none.

The Frozen Four is a great hockey tournament that will crown the 2010 NCAA national Champion in hockey. The best teams in college hockey will make it to the Frozen Four to compete for that NCAA Championship title. Past champions like Boston University, Boston College, Denver, Michigan State and Wisconsin are sure to be in the field for the 2010 Frozen Four, so it truly is a compilation of the best that college hockey has to offer.