TicketCity > College World Series Tickets > College World Series Preview History
College World Series Preview History

College World Series Preview History

The 2014 College World Series heads to Omaha with Texas, Texas Tech, TCU, UC Irvine, Virginia, Ole Miss, Louisville, and Vanderbilt as the top teams in college baseball. The Red Raiders will be making the schools first ever CWS appearance while in-state rival, UT, has combined for more appearances than all the 2014 CWS Schools combined. With some of the best college baseball of the year still to be played, the 2014 College World Series is setting up nicely for a great finsh this year.

2013 World Series Preview: Mississippi State and UCLA made it to the end of the College World Series and match up at TD Ameritrade park for the finals. Both teams entered the tournament unranked pulling out upset after upset to make it to the finals. Mississippi State landed in the finals after taking down the #3 Beavers in the semi's 4 -1 while UCLA captured a 4 - 1 win over the #1 Tar Heels. With three games left in the CWS only one can leave the field as champions.


June 27 - 28

The South Carolina Gamecocks win the 2011 College World Series, beating Florida two games to none.

South Carolina 2,Florida 1
South Carolina 5,Florida 2

June 18-25 (Double elimination)

June 24

Game 11: Florida 6, Vanderbilt 4
Game 12: South Carolina 3, Virginia 2

June 23

Game 10: Virigina 8 v. California 1

June 22

Game 9: Vanderbilt 5, North Carolina 1

June 21

Game 8: California 7, Texas A&M 3
Game 7: South Carolina 7,
Virigina 1
Game 6: Florida 3,
Vanderbilt 1

June 20

Game 5: North Carolina 3, Texas 0 (Texas eliminated)

June 18/19

Game 1: Virigina 4, California 1
Game 2: South Carolina 5, Texas A&M 4
Game 3: Florida 8, Texas 4
Game 4: Vanderbilt 7, North Carolina 3


Charlottesville Super Regional
Virigina (1) v. UC Irvine (3)

Viriginia advances 2-1

Gainesville Super Regional
Florida (1) Mississippi St. (3)
Florida advances 2-1

Santa Clara Super Regional
California (3) v. Dallas Baptist (3)
California advances 2-0

Austin Super Regional
Texas (1) v. Arizona St. (1)
Texas advances 2-1

Tallahassee Super Regional
Florida State (1) v. Texas A&M (1)
Texas A&M advances 2-1

Nashville Super Regional
Vanderbilt (1) v. Oregon St. (1)
Vanderbilt advances 2-0

Columbia Super Regional
South Carolina (1) v. Connecticut (2)
South Carolina advances 2-0

Chapel Hill Super Regional
North Carolina (1) v. Stanford (2)
North Carolina advances 2-0

The Road to Omaha will officially begin on June 4, when a field of 64 teams kicks off the NCAA Division Baseball Championship with a double elimination regional round. On Memorial Day, an NCAA selection committee chose the nation's top teams to compete for an appearance at Omaha's Rosenblatt Stadium and a prized College World Series title.

The Arizona State Sun Devils, who already have 21 College World Series appearances and 5 titles, have claimed the number one seed in this year's tournament. The team finished the season 47-8 and won the Pac-10 league title. Other automatic bids included conference champions Texas, Florida, Coastal Carolina, Virginia, UCLA, Louisville and Georgia Tech.

But it doesn't take a national seed to win the tournament. The TCU Horned Frogs are expected to make some noise in Omaha this year, as their top-10 pitching staff and top-20 offense takes the field for tournament play. The first round pits defending champions LSU against UC Irvine. When the two teams met for regional play in 2008, LSU scored 5 runs in the 9th inning to edge out a 9-7 victory, and a heated rivalry is sure to pursue.

Fans attending this year's College World Series may witness history, as Florida International's Garrett Wittels takes his 54-game hitting streak - four shy of Robin Ventura's Division I record - into the tournament.

The 2009 College World Series at Rosenblatt Stadium in Omaha, Nebraska will feature some of the best college baseball teams in the country. The 2009 CWS field will include a handful of college baseball's traditional powers who are regular visitors to Omaha. Fans of Cal State Fullerton, LSU & North Carolina don't need a map to get to Rosenblatt Stadium; they've all been there enough times to know every detail of the CWS. The first pitch of the 2009 CWS will be on Saturday, June 13th. The 3-game Championship Series will begin on Monday, June 22nd.

Game 1 : Cal State Fullerton vs. Arkansas

Game 2 : LSU vs. Virginia

Game 3 : North Carolina vs. Arizona State

Game 4 : Texas vs. Southern Miss

Game 5 : Cal State Fullerton vs. Virginia

Game 6 : Arkansas vs. LSU

Game 7 : North Carolina vs. Southern Miss

Game 8 : Arizona State vs. Texas

Game 9 : Arkansas vs. Virginia

Game 10 : Arizona State vs. North Carolina

Game 11 : LSU vs. Arkansas

Game 12 : Texas vs. Arizona State


Game 1: LSU vs. Texas

Game 2: LSU vs. Texas

Game 3: LSU vs. Texas

Sell Us Your Tickets*
Use of this website constitutes acceptance of our Terms & Conditions.