TicketCity > Detroit Lions Tickets > Detroit Lions History
A History of the NFL's Detroit Lions

Detroit Lions History

Tickets Detroit Lions History Lions Season Preview History Ford Field Experience

The Detroit Lions play in the North Division of the National Football Conference in the NFL. They play their home games at Ford Field in downtown Detroit. In their early years, the team was known as the Portsmouth Spartans. The team began playing football in 1929 as an independent team, but joined the National Football League in 1930 while other independents folded due to the Great Depression. Though the Lions managed to post success in the NFL, they could not survive in the rough economic climate while in Portsmouth, and were purchased and moved to Detroit in 1934.

The Lions enjoyed their greatest success in the 1950's, winning the championship in 1952, 1953 and 1957. Under the leadership of quarterback Bobby Layne, the team soared to success, and defeated the Cleveland Browns in each of the three championship games.

The Detroit Lions are the only team in NFL history to lose all 16 regular-season games. They went 0-16 in 2008 after winning all four preseason games. They are only the second team in history to go winless without a tie, next to the 1976 Tampa bay Buccaneers team that went 0-14.

The Lions have won four NFL championships, with the last one coming in 1957. This gives the Lions the second-longest NFL championship drought behind the Arizona Cardinals. The Lions have yet to reach a Super Bowl.

Sell Us Your Tickets*