TicketCity > Golf Tickets > PGA Championship Golf Tickets > PGA Championship Preview History
PGA Championship Preview History

PGA Championship Preview History

The 2018 PGA Championship

Tickets Event Guide Championship History Notable Championships Championship Winners

Location: Kohler, Wisconsin
Course: Whistling Straits Country Club
As the last major of the year, the PGA Championship serves as the final chance for golfers to capture a one of the most elusive titles in the sport. This year, the 92nd edition of the tournament returns to Whistling Straits in Haven, Wisconsin, for the first time since 2004, when Vijay Singh took home the Wanamaker Trophy.

Although he has certainly had a tumultuous year, and is heading into the British Open having yet to win a tournament, Tiger Woods has to be among the favorites when the competition tees off on August 12. Woods has won the tournament four times, most recently in 2007. Fans should be on the look out for Wisconsin-born Steve Stricker who just won the John Deere Classic with an astounding 26-under par.

The Straits Course at Whistling Straits is anything but an easy test for the field. The course, which offers striking views of Lake Michigan, is a daunting 7,514 yards which makes it the second longest course ever to host a major. Perhaps most intimidating is the 223-yard par-3 17th hole. This iconic hole is one of the hardest par-3s around, and features a difficult green surrounded by treacherous sand dunes on the right and a steep 20-foot drop to leading to the lake on the left.

Location: Chaska, Minnesota
Course: Hazeltine National Golf Club
The 91st PGA Championships set for August 10-16 in Chaska, Minnesota will not disappoint. Spectators will enjoy the thrilling experience of watching the highly favored four-time PGA championship winner, Tiger Woods up against some fierce competition. Other highly ranked contenders for the upcoming tournament are Phil Mickelson, Sergio Garcia, Lee Westwood, Paul Casey, along with Hunter Mahan and Kenny Perry, and last year's champion, Pádraig Harrington. For additional information regarding attractions, directions, and parking, be sure to check out the PGA Championship event guide.

CBS will televise the PGA Championships for the 19th consecutive year now. They will have live coverage of the world’s greatest players as they contend against one another in a race for the highly esteemed Wanamaker Trophy. In addition, history will be made as Japanese pro Ryo Ishikawa becomes the youngest player in the history of the PGA Championships to play at the age of seventeen.

In an upset of truly enormous proportions, Y.E. Yang wins his first major at Hazeltine National Golf Club. The nature of the upset wasn't merely that Yang bested the favorite, Tigers Woods, it was how the win happened on the final round, with Tiger leading from the previous 54 holes. Previously, Wood's record for wins after leading going into the final round was perfect. Another win in Chaksa seemed like a foregone conclusion, but Yang pulled ahead with an eagle on the 14th and never gave up the lead.

Sell Us Your Tickets*